“On Purpose”

I found a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson today and I knew I had to share it here.
I must first apologise for my epileptic posts… I promise to work on it.. Hard enough!

So, here’s the quote:

“The purpose of life is not to be happy. It
is to be useful, to be honorable, to be
compassionate, to have it make some
difference that you have lived and lived
well.”

It struck me on the perfect note and on the right key too. Life is like a funeral rite, we are all here in the gloomy and depressing life situation to bury some deed. Some thought. Some treasure. If we do not learn to be sober while at it, others may think we don’t understand why they have nothing to bury.
You NEED to have a treasure worth burying, worth nurturing, worth hiding away… Something that grows beyond the mediocrity of human existence… Something that spits the flames of purpose and coughs out deep-seated truth.

Purpose lies deep within every man’s hearts; everyone has a different path to thread, and even though we all may arrive at the same destination, we still have to take different routes to FIND/DISCOVER the purpose for embarking on our spiritual, physical, mental and psychological adventures. The Yorubas’ would say ‘ona kan o wo oja’ (There are several routes to the market).

Your purpose is to be discovered by no one but you! You have to ASK God and WAIT for him to speak… Don’t follow the crowd… They’ll step on your sorry feet!!

3 thoughts on ““On Purpose”

  1. Pingback: Find My Way | terry1954

Leave a comment